by Orion Hudson

Did you know our Principal Mr. Gray is in a band? Well, if not, then you’re in for a treat. The band is The Right Track. I interviewed Mr. Gray to learn more about him and his band.

Me: How did the band come to be?

Mr. Gray: So the founder of the band is Tom Rodman. He is a retired New York executive, and when he moved to Maine after retiring, he wanted to start up a band in the Camden area. He was in a band when he was young and missed it. When he retired to Camden, he started networking to find musicians.

Me: What instrument do you play?

Mr. Gray: In the band, I’m lead vocals. I play guitar, but only at home not in the band.

Me: How did you get into music?

Mr. Gray: I was always kind of musically inclined, playing piano and clarinet as a kid. Then I realized as a teenager that I could sing really well, joined the chorus, and in college, I was in an acapella group. After college, I moved to Maine and began singing at events like weddings and funerals. I also sang in an impromptu teacher band, and that’s how Tom Rodman heard about me.

Me: What’s your favorite genre of music?

Mr. Gray: It is impossible to say. It depends on my mood

Me: Do you have any upcoming gigs?

Mr. Gray: This Friday, February 16th.

At the Elks Lodge. It’s put on by Out! Maine.

Me: How long has your band been around?

Mr. Gray: 8 years.