by Brooklynn Brown

Mount View High School welcomes a new principal this year. Mr. Gray was born and raised in Delaware. He went to college at the University of Delaware where he met his wife while doing plays. He was also part of an acapella group called the Deltones. After college, he and his wife both decided they wanted to go to Bangor, Maine, and start their family. At that time, he wasn’t involved as much in music anymore. Mr.Gray started a job working at Enfield Station School working as a 1v1 aid where he realized his love for teaching, and he went back to college to earn a teaching degree. A little while later, Mr. Gray secured a year-long position at Mary E. Taylor Middle School in Camden, teaching 8th-grade social studies. When a permanent job opened at Camden Hills Regional High School where he was a history teacher, drama, cross country, and track coach. Mr.Gray went back to college to get a second Master’s degree in History, and later a third in School Administration. A position at Mount View High School later opened up in need of a principal, and he felt that it was his time to step up and help the school and community. Mr.Gray now resides in Maine with his wife, 3 kids, 2 dogs, and 8 chickens. Mr.Gray is also now a part of a band as a singer called The Right Track. He said, “It’s super fun and I love it.”

Mr. Gray answered some questions for Voicing the View.

Question #1- What made you decide to become a principal?

For a long time, I didn’t want to. I wanted to be a teacher and loved it. I have been a teacher for a long time. During my time as a teacher, I served on the school interviewing committee and during my time serving, I realized that not a lot of people wanted to step up. I felt that good people need to step up because it’s an important job.

Question #2- What made you choose Mount View?

I had a strong feeling that I could be of use. When I had my interview, I enjoyed the people, and I’ve always known about Mount View since my wife graduated from here.

Question #3- What makes you excited about this new position?

I feel like I have a good opportunity to help our school and community. Mount View is so understaffed, and Covid hit the community hard. There are a lot of families in the community with needs, and I have a strong desire to be helpful. I also feel as though I already fit in here.

Question #4- What do you hope to bring to Mount View?

I hope to bring a sense of community and to bring pride to Mount View. I also like to sing in our school assemblies.

Question #5- How do you feel about our environment/ community? 

It’s a good community with strong families and good values. Sure it has its problems, but the people around here are proud of the school and put their hearts and souls into it, real, authentic, and not pretentious. 

Question #6- What has been you’re favorite part of your job so far?

Getting to know the students, developing relationships with the students, and helping kids with their needs.

Question #7- What has been the hardest part of you’re job so far?

I don’t know what I don’t know. I’ve never been a principal, and there are so many new protocols and ways Mount View does things that I’m not 100% with yet.