by Brooklynn Brown

Ms.Perkins went to college for her undergraduate degree at Thomas College where she met her husband. She also got a bachelor’s degree in Psychology and graduated a semester early because she did a semester-long internship at a mental health agency called Sweetser. She first started working in mental health at a residential group home for teenagers. She worked full-time while going to school full-time at the University of New Hampshire where she got her master’s in Marriage and Family Therapy and did in-home treatment and home therapy. Once she graduated with her master’s, she then became a therapist at Mount Arat Middle and High School. Once she and her husband bought a house in Palermo with her kids, she became a therapist at China Primary School and China Middle School. She later heard about the opening at Mount View from a fellow friend and felt that this position would be a good fit for her and couldn’t wait to work with teenagers again. 

  1. What made you decide to become a therapist?

I’ve always really wanted to help people. I really enjoy listening to people’s stories and being an agent of change. I am very humbled and honored by each student’s vulnerability. 

  1. What made you choose Mount View?

Ms.Gray mentioned the job, and once I came to Mount View I felt valued in my position. It’s a great opportunity to create some positive lasting change for the Mount View community. 

  1. What makes you excited about this new position?

I am excited to work with the whole student body. In previous jobs, I would have a small strict case load, so I’m excited to work with these students.

  1. What do you hope to bring to Mount View? 

I hope to bring more hope to the community and to instill a culture of vulnerability, where we can ask for help and where we can be ourselves without judgment and be accepted in this community.

  1. How do you feel about our environment/community?

I’m new to this environment and community, but I’ve gotten good vibes. It’s a small community so words travel fast, but that also means good things can travel fast. Because it’s so small, the teachers and the support staff are actively involved in trying to make a difference. 

  1. What has been your favorite part of this job so far?

My favorite part has been getting to know the students. It’s nice to come in and see bright faces, and even sad faces. I’m excited to be able to help people feel better and get through their day even if it’s hard, and I applaud them and like to see that growth.

  1. What has been the hardest part of your job so far?

The hardest part would be trying to learn and adjust to procedures and adjusting those to my needs and the needs of this position.

If you need any support at school Ms.Perkins is available in the Counseling Office. If you need help or just want to talk, stop by the Counseling Office or send her an email.